SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SHO monkey business

Magnus_e

Hi folks :)

So this is my first full color nb image.

It is the Monkey head nebula shoot between 13th Feb to 15th March. It has been so much cloud and fog here that I actually used a month to collect 11h 35min of monkey business! Its my first attempt at HST, and first > 10h image :)

I have not got to try to finish with the processing, but I have calibrated, stacked and combined the channels with a little noise reduction and a masked stretch.

Asi 1600mm-c @ -30C with Gain 139, Offset 21

300x bias

~60 darks

5h 30min Ha in 300sec subs

3h 10min O3 300sec subs

2h 55min S2 300sec subs.

Whit a lot more Ha then O3 and S2 I cheated and ran scnr green, but I'm for now happy with the color balance. I will try to do some more processing when I get time and bring out some more signal, and color, but feel free to let me know what you think about the image at this point.

ngc-2174-SHO1.thumb.png.e419a094df43c46dcd4653bec5437b5a.png

I don't think SCNR green is cheating - at least I hope it isn't!  I think your result is splendid and I would counsel against doing too much additional processing.  If it was mine, I might be tempted to try boosting contrast just a bit (Noel's Local Contrast Enhancement applied  just where you want it is great for this).  And then maybe a slight boost in saturation using whatever your favourite method is for doing this.

Great result, I'd say.

Thanks for the feedback :)

I have been trying to stop my processing before I over process lately. I find it a better work flow to stop early and then rather go back an add to it later.

I can see the  clouds are actually clearing. Wonder if that lasts. Off to dso-browser and see if  I can find anything bright and fast, or I might start on the LRGB Leo triplet I've been thinking abut. I was off target last year with my dslr and made a Leo doublet :)

So now I have made a version that I do like a lot.