Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Strong grain in stacked light pollution?

Hello to all! I'm pretty new to astrophotography. I'm imaging with an astro-modified Sony A5000 and an unmodified NEX-5, and a bunch of old M42 manual telephoto lenses. I have a Star Adventurer camera mount.

I sometimes seem to be getting a strange grain in the light-polluted background of my images, which is not present in the individual exposures. The grainy effect makes it hard to remove in postprocessing. I've accentuated it a little here. This is the result of stacking around 200 30-second subs in DeepSkyStacker:

large.grainy.jpg

I'm thinking it's either high-level cirrus, or a noise feature of the camera. It only appears after stacking, and gets more accentuated with more stacked images. The direction of the grain varies in different images, which makes me think it might be an effect of stacking images with faint clouds?

All and any advice would be much appreciated!

Kind regards

-Mat

Are you using kappa sigma clipping in DSS?

Are you also using calibration frames?

At a guess I would say that DSS has stacked the noise and it looks odd because the image shifts between frames but it certainly does look strange.

Otherwise double check all the subs frames, especially the last ones to check there was no dewing or other problems that are getting thrown in.

It is so called walking noise.  The stars drifted across the frame during the course of your imaging session so when you align the stars in those frames it appears that the hot/warm pixels are walking across the frame instead.  A combination of hot pixel detection and removal, good calibration with darks and kappa-sigma clipping should help.

Mark

This is indeed walking noise and is caused by each frame a little different from the next. The best you can do to avoid this is:

1. make sure your rig is balanced