Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

General observing question: Location

Hello, I am fairly new to observing, though I have been reading about astronomy and cosmology for years. I have a cheap Celestron AstroMaster LT60AZ. For such a low-end telescope, two days ago it gave me the joy of seeing Saturn's rings for the first time. Previously I had also observed Jupiter and was able to see some of the Galilean moons, and I was also able to see Mars as an extremely bright disk. The Moon also had a lot of time in my eyepiece, not to mention the times when I just look at the little points of light that are in random parts of the sky through my telescope.

On to the question. My location, the city of Franklin, Wisconsin (near Milwaukee) is pretty heavily light polluted due to Milwaukee (and probably Racine and Chicago as well) being in close proximity. I have decided I would like to travel some 15-20+ minutes away from my house to view things more clearly. However, I am unable to figure out where I would be able to set up. I have found a residential road with very few houses (only 3 on the road, which is somewhat long) that ends in a cul-de-sac. There is not farmland beside the road. Would I be allowed to park on the side of the road and observe from there? The land is not landscaped. Not in the road itself, of course. I would also be sure to stay away from the houses as to not interfere with their property.

Thanks.

You can go ask the farmers during the day, with a good introduction they might give you a permission to park and use your instrument on their lands.

I have an agreement with one, when I arrive to the field path, I put a small beacon green light on the top of my car, to be easily identifiable from their house window. They told me their biggest problem is people dumping garbage on their lands, or the ones growing pot. Especially the growers.

So I sad, If I go there:

- I will identify myself with a light.