NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie questions about iso, shutter time settings

Run45

Hi,

I am really new to DSLR photography but recently got a Canon 100D and am aiming to get some night-sky pictures in light polluted London.

So basically just using the camera + tripod to shoot the night sky from my garden.

I have a  basic photography question:

If I assume the following "fantasy"/"idealistic" conditions :

1) Having a perfect still tripod

2)  Having 0 noise increase if you increase ISO

3) The earth not rotating

Then would "long exposure + low iso" result in the exact same image as "shot exposure + high iso"  ?

If that is the case should I just do the following for night sky photography ?

1) f/n  ... choose lowest possible number n to gather as much light as possible.

2) calculate the longest possible exposure time so I do not get star-trails (there are some rule of thumb formulas I found online).

3) increase iso until I reach a non overexposed image

So the only real variable here is the ISO setting.

But 3) gives me some grief. If I increase the ISO  then sometimes the hight sky looks too bright (although I still can make out a lot of starts) ... Is that usually fixed in Photoshop etc (if then how ?)  ?

How should the sky look like in the raw image :  dark + some stars OR bright + lots of stars ... I am not sure what and what not can be fixed with post processing ... 

Thanx for any comments in advance.  

The standard answer is to look at the histogram (available in the camera menus) and aim to get the peak about a third of the way from the left. I often go much higher maybe two thirds or more but it depends on the target, one or two overexposed stars are easily fixed in post processing but large formations will loose detail.

The simplest way to correct for a bright sub/image is to apply an s-curve but fixing the start and end points in levels and then adjusting the mid for best balance will get you close.

Alan