NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Running a Star Party

Fermenter

Next Thursday I am running my first star party during the peak of the Perseids meteor shower.  It will be in the neighborhood park.  I posted the message copied below to the two neighborhood Facebook groups that share the park and got a lot of people interested in coming out.  I had set up my telescope in the park during the transit of Mercury and posted to the groups to let people know to come out and take a look, but I didn't give any notice.  So a bunch of people were asking when I would do it again.  Since this is my first time running a star party, and I've never actually been to a star party myself, I thought I would ask you all for advice on what to do, what to bring, how to make it great for everyone involved.

There are bunch of people in the neighborhood that homeschool, and they have shared my message with their homeschooling group in the city (about 120 families).  In addition a bunch of adults have said they would like to show up later, after the kids have had their turn at the telescope.  So here's what I've got planned so far...

I will be setting up my Meade LXD-55 SN-6" telescope, for which I have a 26mm & 7mm eyepiece, for people to take a look at the moon, Saturn and Mars.  We are in a major city, Atlanta, so hopefully the sky is really clear and the meteors are able to push through the light pollution.  I will be bringing some 532nm 5mW laser pointers, my old ones disappeared, so I picked up a 5 pack for $15 and will sell the extras to anyone who wants one for $3.  I plan on teaching the kids where Polaris is, by finding it via Cassiopeia, so they know how to find north; and also how to find Perseus from Cassiopeia as that is the radiant for the meteor shower.