Jump to content

Narrowband

Galileo Satellite Launch, Tueday 24 May


Recommended Posts

The Galileo system of navigational satellites will be a European equivalent of the US GPS or Russian GLONASS navigation systems. Here's a brief notice from ESA:

http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Navigation/Galileo/Launching_Galileo/Watch_the_launch_of_Galileo-13_14

Europe takes its next step in creating its own navigation satellite constellation on Tuesday 24 May, with the launch of the 13th and 14th Galileo satellites. 

The pair is scheduled to lift off at 08:48:43 GMT (05:48:43 local time, 10:48:43 CEST) on 24 May from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana atop a Soyuz launcher.

The first three stages of the Soyuz rocket take the Galileo satellites and their Fregat upper stage into low orbit just short of nine minutes after liftoff. Then the reignitable Fregat, as much a spacecraft as a rocket stage, then takes over the task of hauling the satellites higher through a pair of burns.

The satellites will be released in opposite directions by their dispenser once they reach their target 22 522 km-altitude orbit at 3 h 48 min after launch.

Streaming begins at 08:28 GMT (10:28 CEST) on 24  May for the liftoff, then resumes at 12:23 GMT (14:23 CEST) to cover the satellites’ separation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.