Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problems viewing planets through my new reflective telescope

Hi! I am Brooke and I am new to Astronomy. I recently got a new Celestron reflective telescope and I was really excited about it! Although, when I try to look at Jupiter, I "zoom" in and I big black dot appears in the center of the planet, but the planet looks like a big white blob like a star. 3 spokes come out of the black dot. I can see the moon perfectly. Help!

You are simply not in focus, this is a common error. Put in the lower (probably 25mm) eyepiece first then train the scope around onto Jupiter. Using the focuser nob next to the eyepiece and starting from all the way in, start to wind it out slowly, you will get the view similar as you have described above and then as you slowly wind it out, the large blob will shrink to become a small white disc with bright white dots coming off off one or either side of it, these dots are the moon. Once you are at this point you can slowly try a little tweaking to get the tightest possible dot that is the main planet. Patience is the name of the game.

Once you master this try the higher powered (smaller numbered) eyepiece, usually 9 or 10. This is more tricky and again patience is needed.

Hello Brooke. It sounds like a problem with your focusing. I'd suggest practicing focusing in the daylight out of doors. Find a distant object, such as a church-steeple, tall tree, phone-pole, etc. Then get this into your field of view through your eyepiece(s), and learn to carefully turn the focusing-knobs until the object become the clearest and sharpest you can make it. This is also a good time to align your finder with the main scope. This is best done in daylight, as objects in the night sky are moving, and your telescope magnifies the movement as much as it magnifies the object you're looking at.

Which Celestron reflector do you have? It should have a name and some numbers on it and the papers it came with.