Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

To trail or not to trail

happy-kat

Following on from the no eq DSO challenge thread I thought I would have a go at seeing what my Virtuoso mount could do. Using my manual approach barn door I can with my 85mm lens on my dslr can get tight stars at 15 seconds so I set this as my target. 

The Virtuoso was set up in the same place as I use normally and set for my location (or so I thought see later). I did make sure the base was level I used a two way level gizmo. Pointed the camera upwards and a bit west.

The first image a crop below is a 15 second jpg and I expected perhaps better shaped stars.

So next turned the Virtuoso of and took another image, clearly tracking was working look at those streaks!

But I have never used a tracking mount before and I don't know whether it's my setup or the first image is actually what would be expected from those taking part in the no eq DSO challenge.

But was my latitude 51 degrees which I had googled but actually I should have used the alt of Polaris which was for me 48 degrees?

I can't actually get in a position to see if the camera was pointing at Polaris to confirm my latitude setting, only have one slab to set the chair up on the rest is decking and the slab is right by the garage wall. So is using the latitude of Polaris what I should have done and would a 3 degree difference maker my stars stretched. Anyone any thoughts please?

IMG_20160224_214833.JPG

IMG_20160224_214913.JPG

I confess to being a pixel peeper lol. If it were not so cold and I had spoted the potential bad latitude setting I would try again. I'll keep the thread and update it when I get another chance to try and compare results. The Virtuoso is a lovely mount and easy to use and I love being able to manually move it. It works for me it is table top it goes on a chair and I sit next to it.