Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Books or resouces for someone who live in the equator

Hi, I'm a total beginner in stargazing and would like to survey proper books or any stargazing resources for beginner. Quite a lot of Internet resources and books are directed towards people who live in northern or southern hemisphere. Is there any resources that specifically directed towards people who live near the equator, or I need to just get used of the differences of star position and just use any resources available?

Thanks!

Hi ZerOne01! In many ways you're lucky, since you can get to see basically everything! I don't know if there are monthly sky guides available for your area, but software like Stellarium is a great help for planning sessions. As for a guidebook, you should be able to use almost anything, since you get pretty much the whole sky. There's a book called 1,001 celestial wonders to see before you die that I think covers both hemispheres and might be useful; though it contains quite a few more difficult objects there are plenty suitable for all levels, with photos to help with identification.

Best of luck! Billy.

Billyharris is right, to an extent you get the best of both worlds so to speak. Skymaps do a monthly start chart with observing information which you can print out on your computer: download the Equatorial version.

http://www.skymaps.com/downloads.html

With the free Stellarium planetarium program, you can configure it to show you the sky from anywhere on Earth. Either enter your coordinates or select a city near you.

http://www.stellarium.org/

On 17/2/2016 at 06:26, billyharris72 said: