Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Equipment advice and settings for a complete novice!

Hi all and apologies in advance if i am posting this in the incorrect forum (first post).

I'm new to astronomy, but I've been a longtime observer from a distance...so to speak. I have recently inherited a Celestron NexStar 127 telescope along with a Nikon DSLR 3300 camera. I have several thousand questions to ask, but ill try to make the first post brief so i can at least start to enjoy the scope and camera!

First things first, What is the best option for getting the camera to play nice with the telescope? (I have tried it with the camera attached to the diagonal via a barlow and t-adaptor - image appeared upside down/back to front, I'm guessing that has something to do with the lenses on both camera and scope? 

Is it best to remove the diagonal and just fit the camera direct, or am i missing something?

Secondly, In the day time i have managed to get an image through the camera (local wildlife stuff) on the camera's screen, but in the evening i can't seem to get a reading from the camera? Is there a particular ISO, aperture, exposure setting i need to select? Ideally i just want to take an Image of the moon for starters.

Lastly, if anyone has any other advice that may help, it would be greatly appreciated...

Once again thank you in advance to anyone who can offer any support with anything regarding my setup and future star gazing!

I;m new to this too but what i have found so far using just prime focus, (IE: no barlow) is that leaving the diaganol in helps with achieving focus, BUT it's an extra piece of glass that doesnt help the quality of your image.

I bought a couple of extension tubes to solve this problem.

For the moon with your scope using prime focus i would imagine that 1/200s @ ISO 200 would be a good place to start.