Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help!! - 28x110 Helios Bins

BevKillerB

• New Members
  • 1 posts

Hello, I'm new to this and need some help.

I have the Helios apollo 28x110 binoculars for Christmas put them up to look through and can't even adjust the eye pieces to fit my eye width.  They won't swivel like normal bin's...am I doing something wrong, is there a lock on them..? I have put everything into making them turn but don't want to break them. 

They don't come with any instructions so I really don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Any advice on the best tripod to put them on too, would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks very much!

Hi there,

Congrats on the new binoculars.  I got the same back in November and published a quick review of my experience with them so far.  See the link in the previous reply.   I would be interested to know if you received any dustcaps for the main objective lenses as I didn't get any with mine.

Hi Phillip,

Yes I did get covers for both ends....and thanks for the link. 

I wondered, when I look through them I get a shadow through the middle of the 'scene', is this normal?  The right side seems to be further down than the left...I'm sure when i've looked through smaller bins the picture has been more whole and less disjointed.

Any advice would be welcome. 

Thanks,

Bev, 

Hi Bev,

The dark shadow through the centre of the FOV is because the Inter Pupil Distance or IPD needs adjusting,.   As I found along with some others the adjustment is very stiff and so you will need to be quite firm when you do this.   I managed to get just enough movement make it right for me so I don't intend to try and adjust it any more for the time being.