Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

sizes of polar scopes

I am new to this and have recently bought a Skywatcher EQ2-3 Pro mount. Being one of the older generation, with a bad back, I am keen to carry out the polar cam mod by Dion using my SPC900NC webcam. Is the polarscope in this mount smaller than the one in the NEQ6 he uses. I hope it is as it as using the plumbing parts he uses results in a very loose fit. The diameter of my polarscope's eyepiece is less than 30mm and the plumbing part's ID is 32mm. I will have to apply some tape to the inside of the end stop to get the fit right.

I am in the same position as you, back-wise.

I have just taken delivery of one of these:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00296A8SM?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

And picked up one of these from B&Q:

http://www.diy.com/departments/floplast-push-fit-waste-access-plug-dia32mm-black/136741_BQ.prd

And am in the process of drilling holes/gluing etc. to fit these together. The cap is a little larger that the diameter of the Polarscope eyepiece, so I have lined the cap with a strip of plastic cut from one of those pre-packed  sandwich meat trays you get in supermarkets, using a smear of Bostick to hold it in place. I left it pushed onto the eyepiece overnoght to make sure it set in accurately.

I'll post a pic when finished.

Neil.

If anyone else is considering this adaption, the old Canon B and the Nikon DR3 are both old Right angle finders and can be found reasonably cheaply on the Bay, the process of adaption is a little easier, as both finders have a round boss fitting where it attached to the camera, rather than the new models which have a standard square fitting, could make things a bit more awkward to fit :)