Books

Hello Everyone,

I am looking at getting a book or two from the local bookshop (Can't wait for Amazon, impatient) I am not sure which book to go for:

Turn Left at Orion

Dummies guide to StarGazing

I saw a youtube video last night (Can't remember which) and they said about a book that you can write in and make notes with a pencil. So basically, I am new to this hobby and looking for a good book or two that will help me get started.

Hi Andrew. It really depends on what you are looking for. If you are wanting a general book about getting started in astronomy then I would recommend The Backyard Astronomers Guide. Expensive, but lots of useful information. If you want a book to help you locate objects then Turn Left At Orion comes highly recommended on this forum. A sky atlas that I would recommend for beginners is The Pocket Sky Atlas by Sky and Telescope. There are lots of great books out there and often it is a matter of personal choice. Have a good browse before deciding.

I would certainly go along with "The Backyard Astronomers Guide" Dickinson/Dyer. A book with a general overview of the subject "Skywatching" David Levy. There will be many other suggestions I am sure, but at least you will know these books are both informative and worth the investment, being recommended by forum members :)

I would avoid the Dummies Guide, they are not that good.

Also have a good look first at the book and decide if it suits you. I have found that some do and some do not. What information is contained in the book and how the information is presented is a bigger factor then you often realise.