Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Measurements needed

Hello all.

I have been observing now for over two years using superb grab and go Tele Vue 85 frac on alt az mount which cannot fault. I feel happy with my star hopping abilities but feel would like to get a second scope to suit more DSO pursuits. I am a 5' 4" woman and feel 10" dob is the biggest I could sensibley handle. Considering classic Orion SkyQuest XT10 and think weight should be manageable. However, no specific measurements detailed of base unit. I was wondering if anyone out there with this scope could let me know accurate measurements of base unit as if it won't fit in car then it's a no go. OTA okay to sit on back seat as fits.

Thanks in anticipation.

Sam :-)

Hello Sam.  I have the 6" and 8" Skyquest XT's, the base diameter on both of these is 49.5cm, there is plenty of room to include a 10" version so it could well be the same. Hope this helps until a 10" owner can confirm.  :smiley:

I've just ordered the XT10g myself so was interested in this. Looking at the videos and online documents I guesstimated it to be roughly 22" diameter. The bases look to be same size across 6 - 10" classic/I/g models.

The main difference is the weight for motors.

When it arrives I'll post more info. Hopefully soon :)

Hello all.

I have been observing now for over two years using superb grab and go Tele Vue 85 frac on alt az mount which cannot fault. I feel happy with my star hopping abilities but feel would like to get a second scope to suit more DSO pursuits. I am a 5' 4" woman and feel 10" dob is the biggest I could sensibley handle. Considering classic Orion SkyQuest XT10 and think weight should be manageable. However, no specific measurements detailed of base unit. I was wondering if anyone out there with this scope could let me know accurate measurements of base unit as if it won't fit in car then it's a no go. OTA okay to sit on back seat as fits.

Thanks in anticipation.

Sam :-)

Hi,