NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

1st attempt, and looking for recommendations

Hi all,

I've been a keen photographer for several years, and managed to get a reasonably decent scope last year (Celestron 5SE and GOTO Mount) and decided to start trying my hand at astrophotography.

I've taken 2 sets of images of Orion's belt as a starter:

1. 30 x 2second exposure, 5 seconds apart, 1600 ISO, 150mm f5.0 lens, Canon EOS 600

2. 130 x 2second exposure, 3 seconds apart, 1600 ISO, 150mm f5,.0 lens, Canon EOS 600

Using DeepSkyStacker, and all the default settings I get the 2 pictures on the link. but trying to use any of the advanced settings in the SW, the program just crashes.

Anyone got any alternative software I can use, or any recommendations on how I can get more detail to show up?

Thanks in advance.

(Link to external site where I keep all my pics, and download links on right of page for full size images)

http://andy-stewart.deviantart.com/gallery/53753206/Deep-Sky-Stuff

Hi Andy,

I used to take images with my CPC800 and my Canon attached. You should be able to take 30 secs exposure when it's tracking and this will bring out a lot of detail. You want a mixture of short exposures of say 15 secs and longer exposures. You should be able to stack them in DSS ok but you need the latest version 3.3.4. You can download it from the DSS site.

You can use levels to amalgamate the short and long exposures so that the core is not burnt out.

Peter

I take it then i'll need to do that on scope with tracking to stop streaking?

Basically yes.

Although the Orion nebula most likely needs exposures of different lengths because of the high dynamic range.

One of mine around the belt area..........a stack of 300sec subs.......the Nebula is a bit blown out.

m42embed.jpg

You might not need 300sec exposures, depends on how bright your sky is.