Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Extension tube for Celestron Astromaster 70EQ

Nimrodel

Which extension tube would fit my telescope? This is my main problem:

I have a Celestron Astromaster 70EQ and these cameras: Canon EOS 1100D, Canon EOS 450D and Canon EOS 7D. I've also got a T-ring and a T-adapter. When I connect the camera to the telescope with both the T-ring and the T-adapter I am getting a very strange view of Jupiter. It seems like it's only a BIG grey dot - it's totally zoomed in without me doing anything else than connecting the T-ring and T-adapter after taking out the eyepiece. When I look into the telescope with the eyepiece I am getting a nice view of Jupiter and it's moons - far away, but I guess I could zoom in in Photoshop and getting a nice photo out of it if I could take a photo like that...  The planet is really about 50 times bigger when using the T-adapter and totally unsharp. Attaching a photo so you can see what the problem is. Got a question if it really is Jupiter or the spider vane? After reading about spider vanes I am starting to believe that myself.

Got a tip in here that I should get an extension tube. Today I'll recieve a 2xbarlow - not sure if that would be enough so I guess I need an extension tube as well. I am quite new to this so have a lot of questions... :) I do have three different extension tubes for my CAMERAS, could I use them insted of buying one that would fit on the telescope?

I've got a webcam since two days ago and have managed to get a couple of videos of Jupiter but really want to figure out the problem with DSLR ;)

Thanks in advance!

post-41483-0-11706200-1422004836.jpg

Usually the problem is that there is insufficent inward travel when using a DSLR.

So I would guess that what you see is the spider vane and the secondary not jupiter.