NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First time

It looks like the whole of the Anglia region will have a clear sky tonight and as a complete newbie I am planning to have a go with the new scope that I bought yesterday (OO VX8, EQ5).

I have seen a YT vid on how to balance the tube and roughly polar align.  I think I know which bit goes in where but when looking through the focuser without an eyepiece in place it appears that the mirrors are not completely aligned: the centre of the main mirror looks off-center in the aperture.  Will I see anything or should I have a go at collimating it?

Telescope is certainly in need of collimating. The used eyepieces that came with the scope are filthy, as are the primary and secondary mirrors. That said, I would call last evening a complete success as a first time.

Saw some amazing detail on the moon, went on to fine Castor (fuzzy white dot) and Pollux (ditto) then ventured on to Jupiter after it had risen above the tree.  This was very exciting to see as the four moons were visible and I could make out the banding, if a little fuzzy.

While touring around Orion I found a fuzzy smudged star and at first thought one of my daughters had prodded the eyepiece. After switching from the old dirty EP to the newer clean one I realised I was looking at M42. I couldn't resist having a play with the camera and managed to capture this image using manual slewing - I can see how astrophotography could become addictive!

Shopping list:  laser collimator and lens cleaning fluid.

Telescope is certainly in need of collimating. The used eyepieces that came with the scope are filthy, as are the primary and secondary mirrors. That said, I would call last evening a complete success as a first time.