Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The next step to help improve images

John1980

Ok. I am relatively new to this however I beleive have a reasonable understanding of the concepts.

So far I am using a 127 mak with a canon 550d. I am currently using movie modes to capture avi's and stacking in registax as I believe I am getting better results this way than taking still images. I am using wavelets to no real method other than playing with them until I am happy with the final image. I have tried a few attempts at lunar features however am mainly imaging the full disk.

I have loved this whole process and am both happy and a little bit proud of some of the images I have taken. However now I would like to improve and wonder what the next step is. I have used photoshop a couple of times in the past for pther things but am a complete beginner and so have not looked at it yet.

Please could someone suggest alternative methods of capturing. Alternative techniques for post processing. Or point me in the direction of any good tutorials.

I have googled it but have only come across basic things I am already doing.

In the future I would love to upgrade my scope however I know I am not yet at the potential of the equipment I have.

Many Thanks

Does this help at all?

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/184192-full-disc-lunar-imaging-with-a-dslr/

For what it's worth, I'm now down to using 1/200s exposures, but my experience is that you need to have a delay after the mirror lifts at that speed otherwise it's slow enough to get distortion in the image.  APT will handle that sort of thing for you.

James

Great help thanks.

Firstly I will give APT a try currently I am using backyard EOS will be interesting to see which is the most user friendly.