NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How do you steer that (Dobsonian) thing?

I have a modest Newtonian on a GEM mount and am pretty happy with the ability to make fine adjustments to its position: to keep a small object in the eyepiece I just have to gently turn one knob.

Looking 12-18 months down the road, I'd like to get a bigger scope (~10 inches, maybe more) and Dobsonians seem to strong contenders.

I'm new to this sport, however, and haven't seen or used a Dobsonian first-hand. So, my question is: how do you make fine adjustments to its position: e.g. if you're trying to track with an object or center it in the eyepiece? Do you learn to gently nudge the tube around, or do the mounts come with fine manual controls, or ... ?

A go-to or push-to might be nice too, but I've managed so far without one and would like the option of continuing to do so.

Thanks -- Joel.

Hi Joel, the simplest version is executed as you describe - just nudge it around. Motorised versions are around now, though, that will handle taking for you (you find the object and the scope will track it). For instance, the SW Heritage 114p Virtuoso (http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-114p-virtuoso.html) has a motorised base than can take a SynScan upgrade to make it a full goto.

Hi Joel, the simplest version is exactly as you describe - just nudge it around. Motorised versions are around now, though, that will handle taking for you (you find the object and the scope will track it). For instance, the SW Heritage 114p Virtuoso (http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-114p-virtuoso.html) has a motorised base than can take a SynScan upgrade to make it a full goto.

Hi Joel, I just nudge mine about and it's fine.

In fact I personally find the motorized versions pretty annoying because you have to wait for the scope to move to a target where as if you are moving it yourself you can really quickly shift it back and forth.