NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Unsure if I have a problem with my scope

Hi I have recently purchased a celestron 127 slt and have had it out on a couple of occasions however i set it up in daylight yesterday just to show a friend and admittedly I was looking through a window but could not achieve sharp focus at all with a 9mm eyepiece and even with 25mm eyepiece image was not as sharp as I would expect.

Any advice. I am new to this and scope is only a couple of weeks old.

The window pane is much poorer quality glass than optical glass, double glazing makes things worse, convection currents caused by temperature gradients between inside and outside can kill performance completely. Unless the problem persists outside, I would chalk it up to one of those problems, or a combination

Cheers for the response. I assumed that would be the case and plan on taking outside this evening in daylight to check.

The problem is being new having nothing to compare to. I take it that outside in daylight an image reasonably close should be in crystal clear focus with both eyepieces.

Cheers for the response. I assumed that would be the case and plan on taking outside this evening in daylight to check.

The problem is being new having nothing to compare to. I take it that outside in daylight an image reasonably close should be in crystal clear focus with both eyepieces.

Hi, depending on the scope close focus may be difficult due to range of focuser movement. If you can, point it at something .25 /.5 miles away, this is close enough to reduce atmospheric effects but far enough away to get good focus.  

Thankyou will give it a try tonight and will get back if still an issue. Thanks to everyone yet again for helping.

I feel like a leach on this forum I am always asking for help. I hope one day I will be have gained enough knowledge to help others.