Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

lodestar live 0.9 minimum exposure time

SkyMagic

Hello!  Newbie here.  Have been watching NSN broadcasts of AstroEd's Lodestar x2 video via lodestar live 0.9 and am hooked.  

Can a user tell me if Lodestar Live supports Lodestar x2 exposures short enough for imaging bright objects such as the moon?  

I downloaded and installed 0.9 and looking at exposure tab, I see shortest exposure is 20ms.  With such a sensitive camera as the x2, will this not rule out using Lodestar Live 0.9 for bright objects at f/4 - f/10?

Hello! Newbie here. Have been watching NSN broadcasts of AstroEd's Lodestar x2 video via lodestar live 0.9 and am hooked.

Can a user tell me if Lodestar Live supports Lodestar x2 exposures short enough for imaging bright objects such as the moon?

I downloaded and installed 0.9 and looking at exposure tab, I see shortest exposure is 20ms. With such a sensitive camera as the x2, will this not rule out using Lodestar Live 0.9 for bright objects at f/4 - f/10?

I think the general answer will be NO as the minimum exposure (20ms) via LL is too long with the faster f/ratio. I typically expose the moon in 1ms - 5ms depending on phase but use the original SX s/ware that you can download for the camera. SX Lodestar s/ware has a minimum exposure setting of 1/1000s = 0.001s = 1ms - hope that helps.

You also cut down on exposure by using slow f/ratios but this changes the image scale eg the moon may not 'fit' onto the sensor :-)

The current minimum exposure time in Lodestar Live is 20ms. To keep the code simple, I use a software based timer, so to go lower (to 1ms) I would need to do some code mods to use a hardware based timer.