NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Why take multiple exposures?

I have no experience of astrophorography other than some dslr shots of the Moon but do have a lifetime of experience in terestrial photography. Something has had me puzzled for a while; I can understand taking a number of exposures at different lengths and stacking them, similar idea to HDR imaging, but why spend hours taking multiple exposures of the same length. Surely once you have one image of an acceptable quality you could just stack multiple layers of the same image. Wouldn't a stack of 30 second subs of a dso just be a stack of 30 second subs whether it came from one image or many. I don't have any plans to get into AP anytime soon, I am a visual dob user, I am obviously missing something here but I must admit it leaves me more than a little perplexed.

I have no experience of astrophorography other than some dslr shots of the Moon but do have a lifetime of experience in terestrial photography. Something has had me puzzled for a while; I can understand taking a number of exposures at different lengths and stacking them, similar idea to HDR imaging, but why spend hours taking multiple exposures of the same length. Surely once you have one image of an acceptable quality you could just stack multiple layers of the same image. Wouldn't a stack of 30 second subs of a dso just be a stack of 30 second subs whether it came from one image or many. I don't have any plans to get into AP anytime soon, I am a visual dob user, I am obviously missing something here but I must admit it leaves me more than a little perplexed.

Hi,