Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Nikon Aculon A211 10x50 vs 12x50

Whilst I am new to astronomy I am not new to photography and have been assessing optically quality of lenses etc for years.  With this in mind I thought I would share my thoughts on the above bins as I did not see much about them when researching astronomy forums what to buy (although there were plenty of glowing reviews on Amazon, B&H Photos etc).

As some of you know accidentally ended up with a pair of Nikon Aculon A211 10x50's and the 12x50's giving me the chance to compare both side by side

To be honest I wanted to like the 12's more - I thought the extra magnification would be useful (beginners lust for all things high-mag!) but in the end it wasn't even close, the 10's won by a country mile.

In daylight the 12's are ok but the image is a little soft and suffers from very noticeable chromatic aberration off centre (I will now refer to this as CA and it shows itself as a purple fringe or 'glow' around high contract edges - say a TV aerial against the sky or the edge of a star against the night sky). This is very off putting and detracts from the overall image quality (IQ).

Things are much worse at night. I just could not get a sharp image with them, the CA was very off-putting and the smaller exit pupil compared to the 10's meant everything was on the dark side.

Star clusters that were popping out on me with the 10's were sometimes barely discernible with the 12's and the narrower field of view meant less could be seen in any one view. To be fair as well for astronomical use the extra magnification on offer with the 12's is marginal anyway and given the limited light gathering of the 12's I would say they are somewhat behind the 10's