NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Advice on photographing Icelandic Aurora

Fulhair

Hello all,

I'm new to photographing the sky but next week I'm ticking off one of the to do on my bucket list - I'm off to Iceland with the aim of seeing the aurora.

I've only got 2 nights and whilst weather (both atmospheric and space) is in the lap of the gods, I'd like to try my best and get a picture of them.

I've got a Canon 550d DSLR with a 17-55 f2.8 Sigma lens. Tripod (cheap but seems sturdy), a remote wired trigger and a grip with spare batteries. I plan to wrap up warm

I tried the other night to get a picture of one in the UK but either I miss timed it or my part of the world has the worst light polution.

Anyway, I'd welcome your tips on set up and what to consider.

Cheers!

"Advice on photographing Icelandic Aurora"

Don't forget to "just look" and enjoy it, the photograph is the bonus not the purpose. That being said, I can't really give any tips and I'm very envious of your trip :) best of luck and hopefully some good results to share In a week or two!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Don't forget to "just look" and enjoy it

I'll be pretty stoke just to see the aurora, and could easily come away with seeing nothing but clouds, but finger crossed (and in some warm gloves) I get more than a green blur on camera!

Turn AF and IS off.
Set the zoom to 17mm
Manual focus during the day on a distant object, then tape up the focus and zoom so they can't move.
ISO 1600
RAW
About 15 second exposures, it's a balance between star trails, blurred aurora,  and over exposure.

There was an earlier thread on Aurora that included details on hiring a fast wide angle lens for not much money, wish I'd seen that before I went to Norway.

post-2189-0-48060100-1393786850_thumb.jp

• 3 weeks later...

Thanks all for the advice. Came in helpful on my trip. Unfortunaly we had 30% chance of activity on our best night but we barely saw anything.