NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Advice on my first telescope

Hello all,

I'm a complete novice looking to get 'into' astronomy and have the money to finally buy a scope. Hence I'm looking for advice on what to get.

I've been reading quite a bit online but still a bit lost. I've a few hundred quid to spend and have been looking at the skywatcher scopes but not sure which route to go?

I would like to do some visual observations which lends to a dobsonion on price - say a Skyliner 200p

But also have a dslr so would also like to try some astrophotography as well, so thinking of a newtonian - say Explorer 150p on an eq3-2 mount or push it to an explorer 200p on a eq5 mount .

Not sure if I'd try photographing DSO or planets but would probably try out both at some point.

That said I've seen comments that neither of these mounts are heavy enough for dslrs and proper astrophotography. I probably can't afford to a goto mount at the moment. 

One point is that I plan to move to New Zeland in the near future as with it's dark skies (compared to crowded old blighty) and interesting objects in the sky so it seems a good time to start.

Down side it that it seem NZ telescope prices seem to are twice what they are in the UK hence I'm willing to spend a bit more for a telescope that is a bit more advanced or capable.

So any suggestions what to get, what to consider or things I've not yet thought of?

Cheers

Fulhair

Future proof! go for the Eq5 or HEQ5 mount then look at the OTA. The 200P would also give you better light grabbing than the 150P

I lived in Aus' for just over 4 years and prices there were much higher than the UK so I can well believe that NZ prices will be that much higher.

Lucky man, the southern skies are wonderfull with some great DSO's.

Also get a read of Make Every Photon Count, somewhat of a bible of astro photography.

BTW welcome to SGL.

Thanks for the advice.