Opinions on a starter scope

Hi there,

So, I've finally decided that I'd like to start looking at the heavens with a Telescope rather than with just my eyes, and I've been hunting around the Interweb for a good starter scope.

Taking into account several factors such as price, experience level, size & portability (I really don't have a lot of storage space), I've narrowed it down to 2 scopes that have caught my eye:

Orion StarMax 90mm TableTop Maksutov-Cassegrain Telescope

I'm leaning towards the Maksutov because of the increased focal length, despite its smaller size, but would love some advice from more experienced astronomers. I'm total beginner level, and at this point I'm looking to get some nice views of the moon, planets and hopefully some of the brighter Messiers and Nebulas (Andromeda, Orion etc). 

Thanks,

PS. Apologies if I've posted this in the wrong thread!

The refractor is f/4.3 and will have a fair amount of CA on anything that is bright (planets, moon and some stars).

The Mak is better in this respect.

Equally the Mak will have a narrow field of view so not quite as user friendly

The supplied 10mm eyepiece is likley to be towards the max magnification, should take a bit more but I would have prefered to see a 15mm or 12mm instead of the 10mm as an introduction eyepiece.

I am a bit puzzled, from the name(s) I would have expected a motor or two but can read nothing in the Orion details, description or specification. If there are no motors I would avoid, things will disappear out of view fairly quick. Without motors either must be a bit difficult to move the scope to follow anything. Check out details in case I am wrong and there are motors.

How about £30-40 more and the Heritage 90 at FLO ?

Similar scope and design (presumably) but it has a basic handset built in and a set of motors to track objects once you find them.

I have no idea on how good/bad they are so another post asking for people that have one may be worthwhile.

Hi there,