NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Try with ASI120MM-Jupiter 20_02_14

Clockwork_Orange

Evening all

Well I pulled the trigger on the ASI120MM, and the nice man Sam in China delivered it from China in 3 Days and no import tax :grin: .

So Thursday night being clear I gave it a try, now I've never done any LRGB imaging before so I'm still picking things up as I go. These are just the RGB parts, as I haven't discovered how to add in the 'L' yet. I shot 2000 frames with each filter, stacked them in AS!2, then wavlets in Reg6 then loaded then into PS, adjusted the levels and combined. The first one is at F10 on the SE8, The second one is at about F15 to F16. I fitted the 6.3 reducer to bring the focal length down, then used a 2.5 powermate to get to that. I did try a few runs a F20 with a Xcel 2X barlow but they didn't come out well at all. Both Images look a little washed out to me and I'm sure there is a lot more detail in there to be had, once I work out what I'm doing wrong. The L capture which is not included in either of these does seem to show a lot of detail so if anyone can point me in the required direction I'd be most grateful.

F10 Image:-

post-26295-0-66533700-1393106439.gif

F15/16 Image :-

post-26295-0-24218600-1393106503_thumb.g

Regards

John

Thanks AAF

I did do a bit of one shot colour prior to this with my Neximage5, but this is the first time I've even tried a mono camera, let alone a filter wheel.  I had read up a fair bit about the ASI before purchase though, and thought I'd give it a go, I had read somewhere about keeping the F ratio to around F15 for the best results. But I think the F10 image I have taken is better than the F15/16, but then again it could be the convoluted way I've got to that ratio using the 6.3 reducer. I need to find a good 1.5 Barlow for it I think.

Regards

John