Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

m82 suggestions please

Hello,

I am new to AP and would like some advice. (kit in sig)

600D, raw, 4.51um 18mp

Guiding with a sensitive finder guider and PHD.

Choice of

- 80ed, 600 at f7.5

- 80ed, 378 at f4.75

- 127mak, 900 at f7

So going after m82 this weekend, 5 hr predicted weather window on Sun morning.

So practical imaging window of 3hrs with setup and glitches.

Thinking for lights @iso800

Stars - 5x120 subs

Galaxy - 10x300 subs

Luminance - 2x600 subs

This leaves me with down time in case of clouds.

Will do another 10x300 weather permitting.

Will do 5 darks per timing interval (5x120,5x300, etc)

Any suggestions to change the plan or scopes?

Hi,

I took a nice picture of M82 last week with a C11 (@F/10 Fl=2700mm) and a Canon 600D.  As I didn't have much time, I used ISO 1600 and exposures of 180 seconds.  I took 11 images before the cloud rolled in and stacked 8 of them.  I took 10 darks at the end of the run.  Over such a short time it was okay to do them at the end.  I didn't take any flats, my C11 is pretty flat or BIAS shots.  I do have a library of these, but didn't bother applying them.  With a small amount of imaging time I wouldn't bother taking darks during the run unless a bit of cloud rolls in.  Much better to use your clear sky to get some lights.

I used a QHY5 on a 50mm guidescope, locked to a nearby star.  Tracking was fine and I could have easily got a longer exposure.

At F/7 your images will be twice as quick as mine (forget the aperture) so you should get 180 seconds @ ISO 800.  Or at F/4.7 you will be 4.5x as faster so you could probably get around 100 second exposures.

At F/10 I really needed 360 - 400 seconds @ ISO 800.  You get a good image scale at this Fl but exposures go right up.  I have a 0.62 FR for this scope, but I haven't tried it yet, that should get me around 150 seconds at ISO 800, next clear spell.