Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

A little advice on M42 please

Hi All,

below is M42 taken 09/12/13, not very good seeing, it was a little moist to say the least and this is only my second attempt at DSOs and I am not too good at the editing bit yet.  This is a stacked image of 10; 30 second images and 10 darks taken ISO 1600.  What I would like to know is what am I looking for in the extremities of the nebula?

To me is seems a little tight and lacks any definition of the outer parts (sorry I am not too technical on the lingo side yet).

I would like to try and get this as good as it can be, so any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks.

Oh yes, I am using Photoshop CS5 if that helps? And the image was taken with no tracking so I do not want to sharpen at all, I find it degrades the image.

stacked1.jpg

Thats a very decent start. But with 10x30sec subs you aren't going to get much more than what you currently have. You can try LOTS more and that should add more to your image. But with them only being 30sec your still not going to be getting much more. The farther out you get from the core the fainter the nebulea gets so you will need more subs and longer subs to bring it out. but you've got a good start.

Thats a very decent start. But with 10x30sec subs you aren't going to get much more than what you currently have. You can try LOTS more and that should add more to your image. But with them only being 30sec your still not going to be getting much more. The farther out you get from the core the fainter the nebulea gets so you will need more subs and longer subs to bring it out. but you've got a good start.