NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

what lens should i buy

dwooll

hi guys,

I am just starting out and could do with some advise.

I have just bought a SKY WATCHER SKYLINER 200P 200MM (8") DOBSONIAN TELESCOPE it came with the standard 2 lenses 10mm and 25mm, I have just ordered a x2 barlow lens and I would like to know what would be the best size lens to buy to accompany this,to give me the best possible views of space.

the two that came with the scope are great for looking at the moon but everything else too far away to make out..

any help appreciated..

Little lost by the comment "but everything else too far away to make out".

Optically the moon and the rest are all at infinity.

If you mean too small then what are you looking at?

Stars will always be points.

Now the choice f/5 or f/5 200P. Will assume that the budget is not for TV Ethos and Delos.

With a 2x barlow then try a 12mm BST Skyguider, that gives 12mm and 6mm.

Alternatively the 15mm to give 15mm and 7.5mm.

Part of the choice is the f number of the scope, the main bit being what do you want from the eyepiece and what do you observe.

Bet you never thought it could be this complicated did you? :grin: :grin:

Slightly more costly are the Celestron X-Cels at £65, lower cost are Vixen plossls at £35 (this may well depend on the f number and if you wear glasses), finally the BST Wide Angles (actually narrower then the Skyguiders :rolleyes: ) at £43.

P.S. Which barlow are you getting?

it does all seem a little confusing but I'm sure I will get the hang of it.

what I want to look at are planets like mars and Jupiter.

the barlow lens I have ordered is a

31,7mm (1.25") Achromatic Super Barlow Lens Eyepiece 2x.

what I want to look at are planets like mars and Jupiter.