Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Many beginner questions... :)

chd

Hi,

I'm just getting started figuring out my current (new) photography setup, and looking for some general guidelines.

Problems I'm running into so far: One, dynamic range - I'm getting images of things like M31 and M42 where the center is completely blown out before I have any detail in the surrounding areas.

Two, fairly significant vignetting (I think), and my question on this is mostly - is this to be expected? I'm not using flat field exposures at this point, but I will do so if the answer is "this is normal and it's why people use them." :)

Three, I find that in MaxIm DL I often get a badly-rendered image when viewed at 100% - overly bright, and with what looks almost like a visible pixel grid - but it looks normal viewed at 50%. I assume there's some setting I haven't found yet (I've been using the demo version for about a day) - any pointer to where I should look?

Equipment-wise, I'm using a Celestron CPC 8" SCT with HyperStar lens and an ATIK 428EX CCD camera, so that should make it about f/2.2 or so I think.  (At this point, my equipment is obviously far more capable than I am - working on that. :) ) It's on an altazimuth goto mount; tracking but no guiding. Given that I'm not guiding, what's the longest exposure I can expect to use without getting smearing of the details? Based on one night of experimenting I seem to get visible trailing after about 20-30 seconds, but if the general feeling is that I should be able to do better I'll work harder at getting everything aligned and leveled as perfectly as I can.