Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astrophotography - What is the best mount on a budget?

mutley365

Hello I am new to this forum, so apologies if I am creating a similar thread to an almost identical one.

I have been using telescopes for a few years, but when I bought a Pentax K-5 with an O-GPS1 unit with an incorporated astrotracer function, I became interested in astrophotography. This allows the GPS to manipulate the in-built shake reduction system in the camera allowing exposures of up to 5 minutes (depending on the focal length of the lens, the longer the focal length, the shorter the exposure). Although I got some splendid results from it, I wanted to delve deeper into it and get shots of nebulas and galaxies and other planets (obviously with plenty of stacking). 

I already owned a telescope before my Pentax, but I knew that the mount was useless for astrophotography. My telescope is an astromaster 130 with an eq 3 mount with a single axis (RA) motor drive (MD). I have seen various other mounts that are dual axis eq 3 and eq 4 mounts, but they seem to lack a polar scope for precise alignment. So I decided that the best mount would be an eq 5, but I am torn between two mounts, one is a Skywatcher eq 5 PRO Synscan GOTO mount, the other one is a Celestron CG-5 GT GOTO. I want the mount to be able to take heavier and larger scopes in the future, so an eq 5 seems the best choice. 

I would appreciate some input from experienced astronomers/astrophotographers as to which one is the best, or whether there are better alternative mounts for the same price or cheaper. My budget is in the £500 region.

Aim for an HEQ5 minimum. The HEQ5 is a different beast to the EQ5, think of it as a lighter version of an EQ6. Much more stable and accurate. Your £500 budget will pick you up a second hand one no problem.