NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Total Beginner - Please advise

Hi guys and gals,

I need a bit of advice on Telescopes, I'm guessing this is the right place to ask.

I'm a complete beginner and have zero experience, I'm looking to spend £300 - £400 and would ideally like something with a computerized mount and the ability to connect a camera at some point.

Is this realistic and where would be the best place to buy? I've seen loads on Amazon but have no idea if these are a fair price or if they would fit the bill.

Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Steve

Hi Steve, welcome to SGL!

You could have a look at FLO - First Light Optics (link at top of page). They may not always be the cheapest for every item but their service and more importantly their after sales service is in my honest opinion, second to none.

With £300-£400 you can certainly get a decent scope on a goto mount that will accept either webcam, DSLR or CCD at a later date with the addition of adaptor rings etc. I started off with a little Skywatcher 102mm Mak on a Skywatcher 3-2 mount.

You could get this: http://www.firstlightoptics.com/maksutov/skywatcher-skymax-127-synscan-az-goto.html which will gather more light than my old 102mm and has the advantage of full goto.

If you wanted to photograph faint objects like galaxies and nebulae then you would need an EQ mount, but that could be something for the future. A lot of people 'outgrow' their first scope quite quickly so it really depends on how much you want to spend early on.

The Maks are good for planetary observing/photography and they have the advantage that you generally don't have to collimate them - line the mirrors up.

A lot of people on here seem to like the Skywatcher Newtonians like the 130P, 150P and 200P although the 150P & 200P on a goto EQ mount will be over your budget.

You could always get a manual mount and then add the goto at a later date once you have the funds.