NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

So, how about that Skywatcher Explorer 250P DS?

Looks like I need a new scope.

My 600mm Evostar 80ED Pro just doesnt cut it for me anymore when it comes to F-ratio. I need something that can really collect buckets of photons and get me closer up details.

So, I am considering the Skywatcher Explorer 250P DS. some questions though:

1. I have no experience with Newtonians. What extra equipment will I need for this scope in order to get it focused and such with my Nikon DSLR?Spacers? Field flattener? Coma corrector or whatnot?

2. What about this colimation business? Is this something one has to do all the time? I guess I need one of those laser-thingies?

3. Is it ok to guide this huge cannon of a scope with a side-by-side 600mm refractor?

4. How about dew? Do they easilly get dew on secondary and/or primary mirror? how do I counter this? Heater tapes? Shields? ...

Oh, and last but not the least... with an EQ6 Pro mount, how much counterweight would I need, my tracking scope not included...? I got like 15kg of counterweights right now, but.. dont wanna end up short... :)

sincerely, Alveprinsen.

Coma corrector, off axis guider, essential. The mount will be marginal on anything but still, windless nights.

You'd need to collimate nightly but with the right tools you might get to be very good at it.

Personally I like refractors. A Tak FSQ85 can work at F3.9 in perfect ease... 

http://ollypenrice.smugmug.com/Other/Best-of-Les-Granges/i-rNfQT5R/0/X3/M42%20WIDE%202FLsV3-X3.jpg

http://ollypenrice.smugmug.com/Other/Best-of-Les-Granges/i-SVkkwzW/0/X3/ROSETTE%20FIN3WEB-X3.jpg

The focal length is short, though. Unlike the price!

Olly

Coma corrector, off axis guider, essential. The mount will be marginal on anything but still, windless nights.

You'd need to collimate nightly but with the right tools you might get to be very good at it.