NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

A few questions about scopes

So, with some good advice from the community here I have decided (once the wallet can manage the hit) to get a Sky-Watcher Skyliner 150p but I have a couple of questions.

I will have to keep the scope in the shed (brick built outhouse really), is there anything I should do with it while it is stored? Wrap it, cover it etc?

Secondly, and this may be a bit of a schoolboy level question but I am really a full on beginner! What makes EQ munts better than Dobsonions for imaging purposes? I will eventually get to imaging myself but not for a fair while.

Thirdly, I will be buying the scope second hand, are there any obvious or serious things I should look out for, anything that would scream "dont buy this!" for instance?

Thanks in advance

OK, I'll try to answer your questions. Others might give better answers ... :)

1- For storing the telescope make sure of the following:

• Keep it away from any direct sunlight
  • All caps must stay on when the telescope is not in use - dust is the scope arch enemy
  • Keep the telescope away from damp places
  • It'll do you good if you cover the telescope when not in use - I'll suggest using ''space blankets'', they're good at retaining temperature - they'll give a level of insulation from outside temperature.

2- EQ ( Equatorial) mounts are better suited for imaging because they're designed to match in movement the earth rotation. In other word, they're built in a way that allow them to track a celestial object by compensating to the earth spinning. If you want to image a deep sky object you need to do long exposure in order to collect as much light as possible. If the mount doesn't track the being imaged object you'll get star trails in your pictures.