Complete newbie help with telescope

Hi

Firstly I will apologise because I bet this has been done to death but completely new to the hobby. I have always had a keen interest in the hobby but have never pursued it until now. After reading numerous websites I have information over load can someone please put me on the straight and narrow? I am looking at getting a telescope and I am trying to stick to a budget of £100 to start with don’t mind going over a bit but, don’t want to really jump in the deep end and be spending hundreds of pounds. I have had a look on amazon and seen a few but not sure which is the best for my money, can anyone help?

Thanks

Scott

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Terriable question!

You have either refractor or reflector.

In the refractor area there is the SKYWATCHER MERCURY-705 TELESCOPE from Sherwoods.

It is only 70mm but it is f/7 so the CA is better controlled this is £105.

They also do the SKYWATCHER CAPRICORN-70 TELESCOPE at £85

The Evostar 90 is good abut that is £140

In the reflector side the 130P flextube is £130 and at f/5 will be more difficult to maintain at it's best.

For ease of use the 70mm Mercury seems fair as it will be maintenance free, you will I suspect want additional eyepieces fairly soon as the supplied items these days are not overly great.

For the £100 mark that is about it.

Don't get from Amazon as a proper astro retailer is a lot better.

I have located the information from the Sherwoods site.

There are a couple of Celestron's and Skywatcher on the Amazon site, most are OK. If you go to £150 you can get a larger apeture.

As a total starter I would maybe advise a refractor on an AZ mount, simple, quick and easy to set up, no collimation needed.

An EQ mount takes a little more getting used to but do not let that put you off. There is a good Skywatcher Maksutov 127 on an EQ mount.