NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Nexstar 130 or 6SE Bundle?

Hello everyone,
I am new to astronomy and ready to make my first telescope purchase, but need a little advice on two scopes I like. (Or if you have another in mind...please let me know) I would like to buy a high quality scope for under $1,000 that I can grow into a little, one that will work for astrophotography purposes when I’m ready, and one that is somewhat portable. I am not all that interested in GoTo technology because I figure with Google Sky and a sky map, I am just fine. That being said, both of these scopes below have GoTo, but I can take it or leave it, I think.
I have narrowed my choice down to the following two:
-Celestron Nexstar 130 SLT computereized telescope bundle with 12v power pack and 1.25 inch Celestron eyepiece and filter kit. Price -- $549.98

-Celestron Nexstar 6se telescope bundle with 12 volt power pack and 1.25 inch Celestron eyepiece and filter kit. Price -- $859.98.

At first, I wasn’t going to buy either of these scopes with the bundle, and I was leaning heavily towards the 130SLT because of price, but the 6SE bundle seems like a really good deal (its only $60 more than the scope alone), and I plan on using the scope outside of my home, so the power pack seem necessary. The 130SLT bundle isn’t as good of a deal, but it is still cheaper than buying all separately.
So I guess my main question is whether the 6SE is worth an additional $300? If I wasn’t going to buy a power pack and the eyepieces, I might go with the 130SLT because the price for the scope alone is only $369 vs. $799 or the 6SE only.
Thanks for any help everyone
:)

Hi and welcome. This is certainly a head scratcher. Certainly the 6SE is the better choice of scope (bigger apeture,sturdier mount), but is it $300 better, for 1" of extra apeture.

Probably, but i'd find it hard to justify the extra $300.