SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Perseus double cluster

Caz

I've been trying to get this beauty for a few days now, and has evaded me.....until tonight, I've spotted the [removed word]..... :clouds2:  And what a corker it is...   The more I studied it, the more detail I could make out, and what really got me intrigued was the red star smack bang in the middle.   I checked out the astro software just to see if I wasn't seeing things, and theres another 5 or 6 of them!  What are they? 

Oh yes the Little Dumbell Nebula, am I able to spot this with my 8" scope....?

I've been trying to get this beauty for a few days now, and has evaded me.....until tonight, I've spotted the [removed word]..... :clouds2:  And what a corker it is...   The more I studied it, the more detail I could make out, and what really got me intrigued was the red star smack bang in the middle.   I checked out the astro software just to see if I wasn't seeing things, and theres another 5 or 6 of them!  What are they? 

Caz,

I thought you'd like it :clouds2:

Astroman excels at questions like this (you've not met him yet :clouds2:) but until then, I can at least say that warm coloured stars are normally older stars; young stars tend to burn bright blue/white. 

Hope that helps,

Steve

Funny, I've always seen bunches of red stars around the double cluster! The prominent one smack between the two though is FZ Perseii, a semiregular variable. Coxellis is spot on, too. It's an older star between us and the cluster. Pretty much all the red stars you see toward PDC are not associated with it, since the DC is two "brand new" open clusters, (only millions of years) while the red ones are billions of years along the HR chart.

Hope that helps.

So if they are older stars, does that mean that they would become a supernova??