NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

anyone used these ...

sparkyjon

not sure if this is classed as diy but i've stumbled across these. and i did search for a thread already going but had no luck...

http://www.dewityourself.co.uk/standard-dew-heater-bands.html

has anyone had any experience with them how easy are they to make ?And are they any good? i'm an electrician and build pc's so not too dumb with wires...

To be fair its a kit of almost the same thing. If you did not have the bits on hand then you would almost spend the same after driving out and getting them. I was going to suggest the same thing. As i will be needing some soon and after giving it some thought, i prefer his method of using braid as the main conductors rather than solid core. I think i would rather buy the kit if it was just for one bit of kit.

If however i was going to do the whole of my kit in one go then i may go the diy route, but that would involve thinking about the resistor values to use to give the required heating, then convert that how many 1/4W resisitor that need to give even heating, what im going to power it with, and thats ignoring the thermal mass of the object to be heated... (Sorry rambling at the moment due to the film thats on and the rum and coke in my hand :rolleyes: )

Sorry, my last job was doing somthing similar in the oil industry using peltier TECs to cool things then heat them back up in a controlled fashion and its not always as simple as one thinks.

Simon