Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

sideways views

Hi everyone,

Im new to SGL, although have found myself here many times in the last year searching for help, which thankfully i have always found.

I recently purchased a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p dob. I love it. Managed to pick out a few galaxies so far and some nebulae.

Got a 6mm ep and was blown away looking at Jupiter.

Upgraded the straight through finder to a corrected image right angled one, havent used it yet though.

I think i have the collimation process somewhere handy now.

Just had one issue, which is really not that bad...

If i look through the scope, the image will appear upside down, as it should, mine howerver appears sideways?!

e.g viewing in the daytime, looking at a telegraph pole, pole should appear upside down, but would still be in a vertical position.

My view of the pole is almost horizontal, i.e telegraph pole laying down. is this normal?

any help would be cool.

as i say, not that bad a problem, looking at stuff in space doesnt really need an up or down!!

hope this makes sense.

Thx in advance, and for all the unkowing help you have given me in the past,

Jamie

When you view the pole is the eyepiece pointing straight up or down? If so try rotating the ETA if you can so it points horizontally.

There is nothing wrong it is just the way the reflection off the secondary mirror appears to you.

Rotating an OTA on a dob is generally a bad idea :D

Don't worry about it ironwire, its just the angle of the reflection from the secondary. Try looking through the eyepiece sideways on but as you say, in space, up is wherever you want it to be. :)

When you view the pole is the eyepiece pointing straight up or down? If so try rotating the ETA if you can so it points horizontally.

There is nothing wrong it is just the way the reflection off the secondary mirror appears to you.