NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginner help with equipment

Hi, I have decided I want to try and get some pictures of what I see in my telescope. Granted my 130p is not the biggest but I want to still give it a go.

I am new to imaging and would like some advice on what equipment is needed. I have a goto scope that I manage to align very well for tracking, I have 2 different camera adapters to hold the camera to the scope.

I would like a cheap but decent DSLR camera that is capable of having a shutter release attached via a cable or other (Bluetooth etc if it's possible) also any ideas on what lenses or other equipment to get would be appreciated.

Like I have said, I am a complete newbie at imaging and any advice would be fantastic.

Thank you.

Is the mount equitorial or Alt/Az ?

If Alt/Az then generally people use these for planets and attach a webcam, take a movis, then stack the good frames from the .avi file through something like Registax.

An Alt/Az is not suited to long exposures, in simple terms they move up/down and left /right, they do not rotate.

If equitorial then you will need to aligh it very accurately, a lot better then for visual.

You do not generally use a lens, you replace the camera lens with the telescope, so what lens is not applicable. You therefore need an adaptor for the camera to focuser, which depends on the camera purchased. Most go fo a Canon.

Thanks Ronin

I have an az mount on my scope so I guess that buying a DSLR will be pointless?

would this do the trick?

http://www.365astronomy.com/scopiumcam-ccd-planetary-imager-p-2525.html?zenid=3f87e4314e4b5d34501ec45d3132b67f

If so, because registax is included, is that all I would need to buy because it's already fitted with the 1.25" fitting?