Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Focuser of GSO 8" Newtonian can't handle the weight of my camera??

I'm a beginner and I've used my GSO 8" F4 Newtonian a couple of times now. I hope I will one day succeed in making nice pictures of deep sky objects. But first I'm getting the impression that my focuser can't handle the weight of my Canon 1000D + coma corrector.

I tried to collimate the telescope as good as I can with a laser collimator. Whenever I center on a star and focus on it with an eyepiece, the star looks good. Also, when I put the star out of focus, the shadow of the secondary mirror appears to be in the middle of the out-of-focus star so I guess collimation is decent enough. Maybe not perfect, but decent. Around the edges the stars appear like little arrows pointing to the middle where they become nice and sharp again. I understand this is called coma and is normal for an F4 newtonian. Anyway, my EQ6 mount does a good job keeping stars in the middle of the image when seen through an eyepiece. However, as soon as I replace the eyepiece with my 1000D camera and look on the Live View LCD screen, the star is no longer in the center but it has moved up a bit. I have to use the joypad to center the star again and when I take a picture, the stars in the top of the image are sharp and stars on the bottom are long and arrowshaped. The bottom of the picture also has a black bar when I use photoshop and crank up the brightness (is this vignetting?)