NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography - Celestron 925 Alt/Az Wedge & Autoguider

alienshores

Hi - I'm just starting out on the Astrophotography journey .... have purchased a Canon 7D as my choice of weapon. From there my options I guess are to do a prime T-Ring/Connector arrangement and obtain the Celestron wedge to correctly track a DSO .... or "piggy back" the camera with lens to do wide field work - With either option do I also need an Auto-guider to obtain reasonable images ?

I'd start by piggybacking once you have the wedge. (I'll say up front that personally I don't like wedge and fork mounts and find them hard to work with. However...) Once you have a polar aligned mount and camera piggybacked you should be able to do long exposures at short focal lengths. The longer the lens you use the more critical the guiding becomes and at some point in the focal length hierarchy you are going to need to start guiding or reducing your sub exposure lengths - which is a pity if you have a dark site.

You can put a guider in an SCT but it makes a poor guidescope with not enough FOV and too much focal length. However, it can be done. I did it regularly at one time with a small apo piggybacked.

Imaging through the SCT will certainly require an autoguider. That is beyond doubt. Your best bet woud probably be an off axis guider though you can usually get away with a guidescope on the smaller SCTs. You will certainly want the F6.3 reducer unless you have the Edge model. The standard model optics need the flattener-reducer to cover your chip. Besides, F6.3 is a way better idea than F10, which is too slow especially for a DSLR.

Olly

Hi Olly,