Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I think I need some help

Last night was the first chance I've had to get my scope out that I bought a couple of weeks ago, and I have to say I'm totally confused.

The scope is a Celestron 130eq with motor and just the standard eyepieces. I know, not brilliant but as a starter I want to know if I can justify the investment in something better later.

(Please bear in mind this is my first time). So I plonked the tripod in the garden about midnight last night/this morning and put the scope on top.

Firstly I tried to align the red dot pointer. No matter what I did I either focused on the red dot and couldn't see a star through it, or I focused on the start and got a massive out of focus red dot. Also, depending on what angle I looked through it, or tilted my head one way or another I got completely different views through it. Sometimes I was getting 2 red dots, one on the front glass the next on the rear glass. Could not for the life of me get the scope to see what the red dot was pointing at.

Plonk a star in the middle of the view finder and try reversing the above and could no way get the red dot to see what I was seeing in the eyepiece, again though depending where I tilted my head, what angle I was looking at. You need to be a contortionist to look down the barrel of the scope at the red dot!

Im assuming that I'm to try and use it the same way I would sight a gun? Look down the barrel of the scope and through the red dot?