Dslr eyepiece help.

First off. Apologies if this query has been posted before. I'm new to this so don't know how to term the search. Was wondering if anyone could answer the following query. I've just acquired a Nikon dslr. And had hoped to try my hand at some sky photography. After purchasing a celestron T &T2 adapter for my celestron powerseeker. I've found that the eyepiece lenses over 4mm protrude from the T adapter. Is this normal or do you have to use a specific size of eyepiece?

I wouldn't normally use an ep when using a scope for photography. I'd just attach the camera directly to the telescope. Whilst, ep projection (what you describe) can be done, you may find you get the issues your seeing, unless you're using an ep designed for the purpose (for instance Baader Hyperions have a screw thread and fitting adapter for attaching the ep directly to the T-ring).

Thank you for your quick response. Hadn't realied that eyepieces and t adapters didn't go together. I've got a X3 barlow, so i'll try with that. Whilst I'm here. Do you know of a camera light filter that will reduce effect of light pollution? Preferably a cheap one. The ones I've seen cost way too much. Sorry to be a pest. Just a newbie at this.

You may be able to use a barlow to image the moon, but that's probably about it with an SLR, and for the moon, LP is not an issue, as the exposure times are so short. However these seem to work quite nicely (at least on the lights around my way).

Which powerseeker do you have ? is it on an EQ mount, and do you have drive motors ??