new telescope. need minor help

I am new to this but I think I'm grasping it quite well. Anyhow I have 2 questions.

Fyi. I have an Orion xt8

1. When I culminate the secondary mirror. And I'm setting the angle or rather the three set screws. How tight is too tight. Its hard to tweak these little guys. I got it but I feel like I might be digging into plastic and after a year these screws.would seem useless.

2. I used it for the first time 2 nights ago. And when I used it all stars were fuzzy. But not in the out of focus way. More of a "star flare" way. They had little offshoots. Kind of like the streetlights through a windshield do. Bad thing is I used the scope almost immediately after taking it outside. Would these distortions be caused by mirror temp or dirty eye piece or what? The.mirror wouldn't have been more than ten degrees from outside temp.

Thanks for any help. Please ask any questions if you have em.

The spikes are probably diffraction spikes caused by the secondary spider and quite normal.

If you think that the primary screws are too far in then you can always loosen them off in equal amounts until you're happier with the tension and then recollimate the scope.

It sounds to me like you have some screws too tight. Maybe the three collimation screws on the secondary, or maybe the three locking screws on the primary. This will cause either mirror to distort and the image will exhibit the views you describe.

The primary locking screws only need to be snicked up finger tight to hold the mirror in place - but not too tight to pinch the mirror. The scondary screws will work easier if you loosen the central screw a quarter turn. Don't undo it completely or the secondary will fall off and hit the primary mirror wrecking both.

Do any adjustments with the tube horizontal to minimise damage if this happens. A good upgrade is to get "Bobs Knobs" which will make secondary collimation much easier. Hope that helps :)