NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Suitable mount for SW Equinox ED 120

saptharishi

Hi,

I am new to stargazing and have decided to go for Equinox ED 120 (that will be my first scope). I am wondering if HEQ5 Pro will be suitable for this scope (or should I go for EQ6 pro which I think is heavier).

I would like to hear from the member on their experience who are using Equinox ED 120 with HEQ5 Pro.

Also, I want to thank all the members of SGL as these forums were instrumental in kindling my interest in stargazing and deciding on my scope :)

Regards,

RU

Are you going to use it for visual or imaging? I currently have a SW 120ED on an HEQ5 along with a load more bits and pieces. I'm sure that the ED Pro isn't much lighter than the Equinox. For visual it will be fine. For imaging, depending how hooked you get on it, you may like a bigger mount just as a bit of future proofing.

Sara, I will be using it for viewing (at least to start with), but getting motivated to do some imaging too in future. That is one of the reasons I chose to go with Equinox. I see two replies going in favour of EQ6 (if not against HEQ5 Pro). That means I need to pat USD 500 more :( I am encouraged to to see you have been using HEQ5 without much issues with ED pro :)

Hi, I have a North Group 127mm Triplet APO and its easily carried by my Ioptron IEQ45 mount , very stable and its a breeze to set up and use , GOTO up and running in under 5 miniutes , I love this GPS , it makes set up a breeze . The triplets like mine are quite a bit heavier than the Synya 120mm APO's so it will be a good match .

One more thing , the IEQ45's are so sexy .

Give it some thought .

I dont think you will be dissapointed .

Brian.

Hi Brian,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, in this parts of the world we don't have too many options to go with :( . We generally get Meade and Skywatcher instruments and to a little extent Orion varients of SW. I will definetely ask about the iEQ45 mount.