NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

EEk! Tasco Telescopes!

Hi All, I am a beginner at stargazing and have purchased a Tasco telescope. I have since found out that this MAY have been a bit of a mistake as I cannot find an outlet for Tasco Accessories, in particular a low power eyepiece compatible to my scope (911TR or 302911). Please can anyone help me. :D Chas

You have a few choices. I am assuming you have bought a refractor. You probably were supplied with .965" diameter eyepieces, of doubtful quality. If the part of the eyepiece that goes into the tube is 1.25", you are ahead of the game already.

Look at the diagonal, where you put the eyepieces in. If it is .965" diameter, is the male end (that goes in the tube) also .965", or is it 1.25"? If it is 1.25", you can buy a diagonal with a 1.25" female end, and get yourself some decent 1.25" eyepieces. If the male end of the diagonal is .965", some manufactureres make a diagonal with a .965" male end, and a 1.25" female end.

Sometimes, scopes are supplied with a focuser or diagonal that is really 1.25", but has a .965" adapter which can be readily removed, and 1.25" eyepieces installed.

It doesn't matter who makes the eyepieces that go in the scope. The .965", 1.25" and 2" sizes are standard for telescopes.

The standard for amateur eyepieces is the Plossl. These are reasonably priced, and you should consider getting one that is the same length in mm. as the focal ratio of your scope. A second one should be about 1.5 times that, and you can get a Barlow lens, which will increase the power of your two eyepieces, and give you four magnifications to choose from.

Let us know some more details about the scope and the eyepieces you received with it.

OK, looked it up. It's a 500mm f/l reflector, with a spherical mirror and a focal ratio of about 4.5.