Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

40D or 50D? Or even something else?

Zendrix

Hello all!

I´ve been checking some DSLR's. My budget is around 600/800 EUR max. Within this budget i somehow got the model Canon 50D in my head, but i'm pretty sure i'm overlooking other interesting and effective models... I read that besides all the good qualities of Canon (which other brands might keep up with), Canon has a better software compatibility for different purposes.

My main goal is to picture Deep space objects. I have no experience at all in astrophotography. Could you kindly give me some insight?

Thanks in advance! :(

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The 50D is a nice camera, and I used to have one myself. For general photography it is better to handle than lower range models. But for astrophotography it doesn't really get you any benefit over cheaper models, and the increased weight may even work against you.

For deep sky, it is common but not essential to modify the camera to make it more sensitive to H-alpha emissions. These are in the deep reds and normally reduced by the camera's infra-red blocking filter. It helps for imaging emission nebula, but not so much for other objects. The modification will affect the camera's ability to be used normally.

So the question is what do you want to prioritise?

i see!

My priority are galaxies, clusters and nebula...So if i modify the camera (i suppose is what they call modded camera?), does that mean nebula are the only only objects i can photograph with that camera? or i can photograph galaxies and clusters as well?

If the 50D doesnt offer not much more to astrophotography, that means you would recommend a cheaper model? what model would stand up to these qualities, saving some money?

Thank you! :(

I thought you also wanted to use the camera for normal use too, which would have complicated matters. If not, that makes things simpler.