Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Using SPC900NC

harshal

Hello

I am new to webcam imaging and recently I procured a RAW modded SPC900NC. I would like to know what right steps should I follow to take my first images. I will be trying my hand on the Moon and Saturn.

Also Please help with the settings that I must use in order to capture meaning ful image data. I will be using WxAstroCapture on my 4" F/10 Newtonian.

Thanks a lot

Harshal

I'm really not convinced it's a good idea to start with the camera in raw mode. I'd flash it back to the standard SPC900 firmware. You can always change it back later if you want. I found it much harder to judge focus with the camera in raw mode.

Settings vary depending on the conditions and the scope. For Saturn I'd start with 10 fps, exposure at maximum, gain somewhere around 60-ish and gamma at or near zero. You can probably leave everything else alone, but experiment with different saturation settings once you get the hang of it.

I've posted the settings used for some of my Saturn images (with a 127 Mak) here:

http://www.tanstaafl.co.uk/solar-system-images/saturn/

They might help you in the right direction.

James

When you're finding the object/planet it is a good idea to set the gain high and once you have found the object set the gain back down.

Note that the images will become dimmer if you swap to a higher mag. barlow.

Also it is probably easier to try and focus on the planet rather than focus on a star and then find the planet again. You may even have a bright enough planet on lower mag barlows to use a Bhatinov mask to produce a diffraction pattern. Focus is everything when capturing.

Here is a good introduction to registax 5 for processing, the guy also does a good sharpcap beginners tutorial -

Registax

Sharpcap settings help

Sharpcap tutorial 1

On this link: